Alumni Bylaws

Home 9 Alumni 9 Alumni Bylaws

Bylaws of the

Mid-Atlantic Christian University Alumni Association

Article I.  Purpose

The purpose of the Mid-Atlantic Christian University Alumni Association, hereafter referred to as “the Association,” shall be to sustain the work of Mid-Atlantic Christian University in impacting the world by transforming ordinary people into extraordinary Christian leaders.

Article II.  Membership

Former students who have earned academic credit at Roanoke Bible College, Eastern Christian College, or Mid-Atlantic Christian University are granted membership in the Association.  All past and current members of the trustees, faculty and staff of these schools are granted membership in the Association.  A voting member is one whose dues are paid for the current year (See Article VIII). 

Article III.  Officers

Section 1.  The officers of the Association shall be a president, a president-elect, a secretary, a treasurer and a parliamentarian.  They shall perform the duties prescribed by the bylaws, the parliamentary authority and all policies, procedures and rules adopted by the Association.  The president and president-elect of the Association shall also serve as trustees of Mid-Atlantic Christian University.

Section 2.  No person shall be eligible for any office unless he is a voting member.

Section 3.  In November the president of the Association shall appoint a nominating committee of five members to nominate officers for the Association; election of officers will occur at the Annual Meeting in the spring.

Section 4.  Officers of the Association begin their term of service immediately following the meeting when they are elected.  They serve for one year or until their successors are elected. 

Section 5.  A vacancy in the office of president shall be filled by the president-elect; a vacancy in the office of president-elect may be filled by an appointee of the Executive Board.  A vacancy in the office of secretary, treasurer, or parliamentarian may be filled by an appointee of the president.

Article IV.  The Executive Board

Section 1.   The Executive Board shall be composed of the officers of the Association and five elected members chosen at large. The at-large members shall be nominated by the same committee that nominates the officers for the Association and thus will be elected at the annual Spring meeting. Like the officers, the at-large members shall be voting members of the Association. The at-large members shall serve a two-year term, but may succeed themselves.

Section 2.  The Executive Board shall have general supervision of the affairs of the Association between its business meetings, fix the hour and place of meetings, make recommendations to the Association, and perform such other duties as are specified in these bylaws.  The Board shall be subject to the orders of the Association, and none of its acts shall conflict with actions taken by the Association. 

Section 3.  The Executive Board shall meet in regularly scheduled meetings twice during the year: the Fall meeting shall be held as a teleconference during the 4th week of September; the Spring meeting shall be held on Thursday afternoon of the Gospel Rally/Homecoming.  Special meetings of the Board can be called by the president upon the written request of three members of the Board.

Article VI.  Meetings

Section 1.  The Association will meet annually on the Friday of the Gospel Rally/Homecoming.

Section 2.  Special meetings can be called by the president upon the written request of ten voting members of the Association.  The purpose of the meeting shall be stated in the call and, except in cases of emergency, at least three weeks written notice shall be given to all members.

Section 3.  Any number of members present at a regular or special meeting of the Association shall constitute a quorum.

Article VII.  Committees

Section 1.  Upon assuming office, the president-elect shall, at his earliest convenience, appoint a committee of five members of the Association to join the representatives of the College for the purpose of planning the Gospel Rally and Homecoming program.  The president-elect shall chair this committee until the conclusion of the Gospel Rally coinciding with the end of his term as president of the Association.

Section 3.  The President of the Association may name committees to aid him in the efficient administration of his roles. The president and president-elect shall be ex-officio members of all Association committees except the Association nominating committee.

Article VIII.  Dues  

The annual dues shall be $20.00 per individual or $30.00 per married couple payable in advance of, or at the Annual Meeting.  Lifetime dues, which may be paid by any member in lieu of annual dues, shall be $250.00 per individual or $350.00 per married couple.  At the spring annual meeting when new graduates are welcomed into the Association they are granted a one-year exemption from paying dues and given full voting status.  

Article IX.  Parliamentary Authority

The current edition of Sturgis’ The Standard Code of Parliamentary Procedure governs this organization in all parliamentary situations that are not provided for in the law, these bylaws, or rules adopted by the Association.

Article X.  Amendment of Bylaws

These bylaws can be amended at the Annual Meeting of the Association by a two-thirds vote, provided the proposed amendment is made available in writing at the beginning of the meeting to all members in attendance.

RBC Alumni Bylaws Committee Members:

David Brothers, William Griffin, Paul Snow, and Melvin Styons

(Temporarily adopted on 11/10/07; Officially adopted on 4/4/08) 

Amended on 3/20/09.

Amended on 3/19/10.

Amended on 3/18/11.